State Tax Liens FAQs

A state tax lien is a legal claim of the State against your property to pay debt owed.

It depends on where you live. It is advised you seek counsel from a local tax specialist or attorney.

Generally no because tax liens are not reported to the credit bureaus.

It is always advised to seek the advice of a local tax specialist or attorney because state laws may change quickly.
Tax lien states have included:
Alabama Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.